Haircovering on Purim

I have my costume picked out.  I can post photos after the holiday, which is next Monday in Jerusalem and on Sunday pretty much everyone else (non-walled cities).  Luckily, a wig will do a lot to complete the look, and while I don’t choose to cover my hair with a wig regularly, Purim is the exception.

I’m wondering though, the Midrash says that Esther kept kashrut and Shabbat.  When she married the (non-Jewish) king Achashverosh, did she need to cover her hair?  My guess is that as it was a non-Jewish marriage, the answer is no.

0 Responses to “Haircovering on Purim”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ilene

Ilene Rosenblum is a writer and marketing professional living in Jerusalem.

Don't miss a post! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 11 other followers


