Eim HaBanim Semeichah – You Too Can Fulfill the Vision

Well, as promised, I received an e-mail today with a flyer for Merkaz Mishneh Sachir, “The Institute for Learning, Teaching and Dayanus.”  There was no follow-up to our conversation asking for a donation – just a simple pdf attachment.

I realize that my tone was pretty harsh in my previous post.  While being assessed for my net worth and asked for money, in my own home nonetheless, is not a particularly warm and fuzzy feeling, I do have a deep respect for the fellow who showed up at my door.  He doesn’t look like the typical shaliach trying to get Jews to move to Israel (though I felt like pointing out that perhaps he should focus on recruiting folks who don’t yet have a Teudat Zehut number).  He also was pretty clear, without being pushy, about asking for what he wanted.  Too many people looking for donations are so pushy they make me run quickly in the other direction.

To be clear, this institute is advocating aliyah to the “Land of Israel” and makes no mention of the State.  I don’t know what their stance on the Israeli government or army service is.  Perhaps I’ll have a better sense after I actually read the book, but meanwhile, a Google search for “מרכז משנה שכיר” suspiciously returned no relevant hits.

The flyer doesn’t list a web address either.

 

If anyone knows, please leave a note in the comments section.  Otherwise, I’ll provide an update, bli neder, when I finish the book, Gd willing. (Wasn’t that a great frummy promise?)

0 Responses to “Eim HaBanim Semeichah – You Too Can Fulfill the Vision”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ilene

Ilene Rosenblum is a writer and marketing professional living in Jerusalem.

Don't miss a post! Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 10 other followers


